Importance of Learning a Second Language

This video is a great example of why it is important for people to try and learn a second language. My feasible study is to propose a requirement for law students to learn a foreign language. I believe in every field of study or any career, it is helpful to know a second language. Most people find it very difficult to study another language because being surrounded by your native tongue, there is not enough practice to pick up a second language as easy as people would like to. I studied Spanish throughout my entire school career from grade school up to my second year in college. Now that I am a business major, I feel as though I do not have time to invest in Spanish. My goal is to make it to law school, and I still would love to be able to become fluent in Spanish.

In the video above, it represents the importance of being open to learning a second language especially in the coast guard. As years go by, America is growing with so many different races and cultures that eventually there will be very little Americans left. The Hispanic race is growing each year because of the people coming from countries like Mexico and Cuba. I believe Americans should become more open minded to learning a new language in order to better communicate with the people in our community. We all are a part of this earth learning to live together and live out our lives to the best of our ability, and I believe being open to change and different culture is very important in order to live a fulfilling life.

SBS
4/5/2011 05:38:44 am

Too funny....I loved it. Just remember to mention the name of the video before beginning with "This video..."

Reply



Leave a Reply.